Final Fantasy XI (FFXI) Ballista

Archive for September 13, 2010

Why Do I Always Die?

I’ve had it—I’m tired of getting killed by the Moogles in Ru’Lude Gardens every time I do something related to endgame.  This is exactly the reason why I avoid endgame.  They kill me enough already but hire a Taru, too?  That’s cool.  Really.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

I mean, I can’t even fight back. I bet Maat enjoys watching me die since I killed him a million times and stole his hat.  But anyway, the new level cap is 85 now.  I can’t wait to level…

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

All right, so perhaps that wasn’t a real death, but I did die an epic death recently.  It all started when Reimee convinced me to finish my NPC’s third limit break quest…

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Clearite seemed distant from me for whatever reasons. Since I stashed away her Signal Pearl for years, I don’t blame her.  She wanted me to meet her “deep” in the Beadeaux area—or at least that’s what Luto (that Mithra) said.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Apparently, I had to touch the “???” in Qulun Dome—the same one from my own limit break 3 quest.  As I entered the zone, I figured that I would be able to get away with Invisible and Sneak, but that failed.  As the master of getting aggro, I got aggro.  Ruby, Ancient, Platinum—they all wanted a piece of me.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Unfortunately, I had to flee because I was dying (no surprise).  When I was zoning the three quadavs, a WHM was also in Qulun Dome and had to make a run for it, too.  She was doing the same quest for her NPC as I was, so we decided to work together.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

I could have searched for the quadavs’ information on wiki, but as usual, I was too lazy.  She said that the quadavs aggro’ed by true sight, so we tried to work around them.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

But the master of aggro never fails to get aggro.  We ended up fighting, despite our elusive efforts.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

We blasted through the first wave of enemies, but as we entered into the next room, Aryianna succeeded my title and died a martyr.  She was the one who said that the quadavs deeper in the area aggro’ed by sound, so don’t come blaming me.  When she fell to her demise, I realized that I couldn’t do anything useful, so I ran for it.  Her sacrifice was not in vain.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Bypassing the quadavs that my partner lured, I managed to reach the “???” for the quest.  In the cutscene, I was surrounded by rapist quadavs until Clearite came to the rescue with provoke.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

As I was spamming my enter key, I missed what was going on, but she seemed to be negotiating with them.  Somehow.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

But whatever she did, she managed to get rid of them.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Too bad it was only a cutscene; in the actual game, I was still swimming in a sea of turtles.  Savage turtles for that matter.  Aryianna died near the entrance of the room and needed a Raise to get to the “???” where I was at.  Thankfully, I was MNK/WHM, ready to bring back the dead.  Well, I was a tad bit low on MP, though.  While waiting for my MP to recover and figuring out a way to reach Aryianna, I prepared my Warp Cudgel just in case…

You can kinda see her dead on the top left there.  Yeah, that was pretty far.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Once a master, always a master [of aggro].  After taking a single step, I was swarmed.  Of course, I wanted to help my new friend, but I instinctively busted out my Warp Cudgel in hopes of survival.  It was human nature.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Karma bit me in the ass, and I was devoured.  Well, according to the code of the samurai, dying in battle is honorable.  I don’t know how that relates to any of this, but let’s just say that my death was honorable.  At least it was with benign intentions of saving my WHM buddy.  Feeling guilty of the failure, I offered to help her finish the quest by going back to Qulun Dome again, but she politely cast my offer aside, saying that she could complete it on SMN another time.  I still feel guilty today.

And yes, that was my epic death.  Well, at least I thought it was epic.  I mean, I even downleveled.  That’s always impressive.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

A random quadav that aggro’ed me before zoning into Qulun Dome dropped a scroll of Auspice, which my WHM never learned.  I probably should have offered it to Aryianna, but I was pretty sure she already had it.  Not all WHMs are poor like me.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Anyway, on with the quest.

I returned to Upper Jueno to talk to Luto for a final cutscene when Clearite made a bowl of homemade stew for me.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

Again, I was spamming the enter key and completely missed the plot.  Although from this scene, to me, the situation looks something like this…

>> Clearite: Honey, I’m pregnant—
>> Vyi: What?!
>> Luto Mewrilah: Oh, congrrrratulations!

I don’t know how this ties in with the stew, but let’s just go along with it.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

It didn’t make any sense to me.  What did the Beadeaux have to do with homemade stew and getting pregnant?  God, that baby better not be half quadav.  Well, whatever.  I got some stew, and that’s all that matters.  Go make me a sammich now.

♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦♣♦

I’ll probably use this in Ballista some time for fun.  People are going to be like, “Holy crap, son.  Is that like rabbit pie?!” and look it up on wiki only to find out that they’ve been duped.  Yes, Ballista is a mind game, too.

Apparently, the stew only gives VIT+1 and atk+?% (cap: 30) for a duration of 30 minutes.  Useful.

Nevertheless, I’m truly grateful for the stew.  Thanks, Clearite.