Final Fantasy XI (FFXI) Ballista

Ballista Keyboard View

As I promised several people, here’s a quick demonstration of how I play Ballista on keyboard.  For those of you who have had your ears bleed from the button mashing sounds whenever I’m on Skype, I humbly apologize (not really), but now you know why it’s always so noisy when I play.  I usually cover it up with the excuse that I’m frantically typing up a last minute essay for English class, which tends to help me ward off people so that I can concentrate on my ‘work’.  Go me.

The main focus is the frequency of hitting the quarry macro (CTRL+6 for me), status macro (ALT+8), and target macro (ALT+9), as well as checking inventory (CTRL+I).  I know that this could bother some people, but I also change my bolts manually (with CTRL+E).  Although I could technically add in some macros for switching bolts, I would much rather have additional Provoke macros.  I have a few individual Provoke macros that I change for specific players and memorize them for each game; otherwise, tabbing through players for Provoke is too slow in most cases.  I find it useful to keep reactionary and time-sensitive macros from slots ALT or CTRL 1 to 5, such as Third Eye and Provoke, because hitting keys like TAB, ESC, and SHIFT (for adjusting camera view) are also frequently used, all of which are located on the left side of the keyboard.

I hope that this demonstration provides a better insight on the mechanical and dynamic play of Ballista.  If requested, I could do more of these keyboard view games in the near future.  Enjoy.

P.S.  I know that I sucked this game, but whatev.  Sup.

6 responses

  1. Evviva

    Fucking Spider Monkey….

    November 20, 2012 at 4:56 am

  2. Don'tcallitaDreback

    lmao V.. why the hell are we watching your hands on the keyboard bro? Have you seriously run out of blog post ideas?

    November 21, 2012 at 1:18 am

  3. Zhouer

    Thank god for USB-PS2. Fuck that shit

    December 10, 2012 at 4:37 am

  4. Theyused2callmeDre

    AMEN^

    December 15, 2012 at 9:37 pm

  5. Theyused2callmeEvv

    ^

    December 17, 2012 at 10:56 am

  6. DRE

    Do we need some immaturity to lighten up the mood? Did V die or something?!?

    January 20, 2013 at 3:14 am

Leave a comment